Fier Thy Words

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Hey Adam: Where You Been?

4/18/08

Friends, it’s been too long.

Hard to believe I haven’t posted anything other than Scott’s articles for two weeks now, but ‘fier’ not (im sorry but that wont get old), I’m back with plenty to talk about.

When last we spoke, the weather outside was finally starting to get better, while I was preparing for my final week of student teaching, while also getting excited about the final home opener in the history of Shea Stadium.

Student teaching did come to an end last Friday, and never would I have thought at the beginning that I would have grown so attached to the kids I was with every day.

I keep telling people that student teaching was a lot like camp in a classroom, as I probably had far more fun than I was supposed to.

The good news is that along the way I managed to teach them a thing or two about history (a comment my professor took literally and criticized me for…”you probably want to teach your students more than a thing or two next semester” (she really said that on an evaluation of mine…I wish I was kidding).

More importantly, the following were comments made my host teacher, who was beyond incredible during the 6 and half weeks I was in his classroom…

“Adam-

I am really glad that you enjoyed the experience. That is my ultimate goal…I don’t think anybody learns from an unpleasant student teaching placement…

….It was a real pleasure working with you and I hope that if you need anything in the future, you will give me a call. Lastly, the biggest compliment I can think to give you is that the kids universally thought you did a great job AND knew what you were doing…”

I can’t begin to describe how good it feels to know that I did a good enough job that my kids not only thought I did well but repeatedly asked me to come back and visit, and one girl even told me to make sure I change absolutely nothing about the way I taught if I wanted to make sure I ended up being a great teacher.

I had a pretty good idea going into my placement that teaching was what I wanted to do, but it wasn’t going to be until after I actually did it that those thoughts could be confirmed. And after almost 7 weeks of doing it, I have no doubts that teaching is exactly what I want to do, and part of me is anxious to get back in front of a classroom as soon as possible.

Last week, I missed a day of student teaching due to obligations I had back home.

Since 2000, I have been at Shea Stadium for Opening Day (or the Mets home opener) for 6 of the last 8 years.

This being the final season the Mets will ever play at Shea Stadium with Citi Field opening up next season, I knew that nothing was going to stand in the way of me being there this year.

I flew home Monday night, and Tuesday morning, a beautiful April day, I woke up feeling like a little kid.

I was beyond excited, knowing that for the 7th time in 9 years, the Mets were going to play their home opener with me there, which is probably a lot more important to me than it should be.

Unfortunately, after walking out the door, nothing seemed to go right.

Getting to Shea from my apartment usually takes between 10 and 15 minutes by car, however on this day, thanks to traffic and lack of parking as a result of all the construction for the new park, I got into the car at 10 minutes after 11, and wasn’t sitting in my seat at Shea until 1:20.

I missed the pre-game ceremonies, the player introductions and the first pitch.

But ok, I was there, the weather was great and the Mets took an early lead after Carlos Delgado hit a home run.

But my seats were underneath an overhang, and there was this massive wind tunnel that seemed to situate itself in my part of the stadium, so 55 degrees felt more like 25 degrees. I spent the entire game shivering.

The icing on the cake of course was the fact that the Mets lost, something they had never done before in all my years going to Shea for opening day.

2000, 2001, 2002, 2005, 2006 and 2007, they found ways to win.

But not this year.

I wish I could say I had a good time but I would have been lying if I said so.

Hopefully the other 20 or 30 some-odd games I get out to this year turn out better than the first one did.

Ok, so I had student teaching and my last ever trip to Shea for an Opening day, but what else have I been doing thats kept me away from my readers?

Two words:

Unit Plan.

The class that goes along with my placement has been without a doubt one of the worst I’ve taken at this University, and the big project we were assigned was a unit plan.

My unit was World War Two, and I needed to create 5 lessons for 80 minute periods that would cover everything from Pearl Harbor to the Atomic Bomb.

Teaching these lessons wasn’t the problem, as I was able to use a lot of my host teachers notes and resources (which made my life easy) but I had to write up these long and very detailed lesson plans to go along with them.

Long story short, two days ago I finally turned in this massive unit plan which was more than 60 pages of lesson plans, materials, procedures and lord knows what else.

But thats finally done with, and as a result the biggest assignment I had all semester is history (no pun intended) leaving me with plenty of time to enjoy the gorgeous weather that has FINALLY arrived here in Syracuse, and of course, blog away.

I know I have two weeks of American Idol to catch up on (still can’t believe one of my final four was sent home last week), along with some election discussion and the start of the NBA and NHL playoffs.

I’ve also been working on some fun stuff like a list of 20 things you probably didn’t know about me, some movie reviews, an article I read about the 20 worst fast food items you could eat, two top ten lists (memories at Shea Stadium and Disney Movies…yes…Disney movies) and plenty more.

It’s good to be back, and I hope everyone is out enjoying the beautiful weather.

…just don’t forget to check back every once in a while!!

April 18, 2008 - Posted by | Thoughts

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

