Fier Thy Words

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Where did those last three years go?…Seriously?

5/3/08

All I ever heard going into college was that it was going to be the fastest four years of my life.

Mind you, this was 3 years ago, so at the time, you would have an easier time convincing me that iPods would be a financial and cultural disaster.

And now that you can’t walk down a block with seeing somebody foolishly swaying their head to the latest and greatest from Fergie, sure enough, the first 3 of those 4 years has gone by faster than you can say big girls don’t cry.

Backtracking, high school was also four years of my life spent in classrooms, learning, taking tests, doing home work, or at least having my parents believe all of the above was in fact taking place.

Let me tell you, there were no four years of my life that took longer to get through than high school.

Changing for gym, taking the bus until that fateful final year, hot lunch and girls making that awkward transition from “cute, going through puberty OMG are these really my boobs?” “to whorish, see through tank tops, OMG she’s sleeping with who?” all put together made up a high school experience which couldn’t end soon enough, and seemed to drag on and on and on.

So how was college going to be all that different?

If anything, living away from home, with all that extra free time was probably going to make it feel as though college was going to turn into this never ending party without parents.

Well, as I sit here, unable to sleep at 3 in the morning, I am left wondering where in fact the last three years of my college experience have gone?

It feels as though I went to bed, woke up, and while I was sleeping 6 semesters and 3 summers just vanished.

Unbelievably, when I finish my remaining work for the semester which should hit around 5 pm Monday evening, I’ll unofficially be a senior in college.

Yet I can swear to you I have vivid memories of being a senior in high school as though these memories were from 4 weeks ago as opposed to 4 years ago.

The worst part is, I understand the expression time flies when you’re having fun, because thats as true a statement as any, but my three years here at Syracuse University have hardly been non stop fun from the end of August to the beginning of May.

My first two years were filled with a relationship I was on and off with, which caused me as much stress and misery as it did enjoyment.

I’ve had a total…TOTAL of 6 different roommates during these last three years, and next year i’ll be kicking the extra point to make it a lucky number 7 during a 4 year span.

I’ve had semesters that have gone well academically (3.3 GPA first semester freshman year) and not so well (2.7 GPA second semester sophomore year).

I’ve some great professors and some downright shitty professors to go along with some easy, interesting classes and some lifeless, ‘what-on-earth-was-I-thinking-when-I-signed-up-for this- classes’ (anything in the science department)

I essentially went all of my freshman year with a handful of friends, and didn’t really ‘fit in’ with m current group of friends until the middle of last year.

I didn’t join a fraternity, as I feel as though Greek Life is the most overrated aspect of the college experience, as i don’t need letters on a sweatshirt or paddle marks on my ass to tell me I belong with a bunch of douche bags who use the word ‘bro’ in every sentence.

And so while contemplating all of this, I sit here and ask myself just where the last three years went?

I enjoy waking up and early and going to class about as much as I enjoy watching paint dry, however being a creature of habit, I am one of those people who loves routine, and hates when those routines change.

A week from now, I’ll be back home in Queens, with no more than a handful of friends in the area, and my parents once again sharing a kitchen and bathroom with me.

It hit me like a ton of bricks (did it ever occur to you that being hit with a single brick is probably painful enough…a ton of bricks would probably kill you) that after I go home, I have one more lousy year of settling back into a routine I love to hate.

I have a bunch of friends graduating, some here at Syracuse and others in schools elsewhere, and I just can’t imagine what the emotions are like, deep down knowing that the once-in-a-lifetime experience that is college is nearing its finale.

And lets face it: College is a time in our lives that is life nothing else, a time when independence, experimentation and beer all come together to produce 4 years (for most of us) that develop into lifes ultimate crossroads, where our childhoods end and our adult lives begin, whether we like it or not.

Lucky for me, I have another year of eligibility, or a year left on my contract if you will (my life works around sports metaphors, sorry).

To those graduating, I send not congratulations, but condolences on the death of your youth, which as glum as it sounds, brings plenty of positives along with it, such as being able to throw away the fake ID you’ve been carrying in your wallet for those last few years, while also putting a pretty alumni sticker on the bumper of your car.

As for me?

I’m going to work a hell of a lot harder and just enjoying the collection of moments which make up every day, as- in the spirit of the Kentucky Derby this wekeend- is coming down the stretch run, with the finish line in sight.

And my only hope is that between right now, and the time I graduate approximately an exact year from now, I’ll be able to look back and smile at the last fours of my life.

And like Ferris Bueller says…

“Life goes by pretty fast. If you don’t stop and look around once in a while, you could miss it.”

Here’s to looking around once in a while.

May 3, 2008 - Posted by | Thoughts

2 Comments »

  1. […] Time flying too fast with only one year left… [Fier Thy Words] […]

    Pingback by 5.04.08 Featured blogs of the weekend « Student Bloggers | May 5, 2008 | Reply

  2. Just wait until you’re out. Even going back to grad school isn’t the same thing. Enjoy it while you’re there.

    Comment by Alex | May 5, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

